Manolis Perakakis world

News, diary, journal, whatever

Opera 9.5 beta March 29, 2008

Filed under: technology,web — perak @ 8:53 pm
Tags: ,

In a previous post I said that Opera is one of the few non-open source programs I use and gave the best credit for their browser. Well, since I upgraded to the 9.5 beta 1 (build 1643) I am reconsidering. It is by far the worst version of the Opera browser I have ever used! I really can’t believe they released such a buggy version to the public!

Here are some issues :

  • it doesn’t respect the cache limits: gradually took over all the (limited) free space of my home partition and I lost my (>5000) bookmark  and contacts file!!! What worse could happen, really?
  • it doesn’t respect address limit size: trying to write to the address bar may take a few minutes!!!
  • Opening loaded pages takes too much time and a 100% CPU
  • The program periodically freezes, also freezing everything!!! I get this nice message all the time: “(operapluginwrapper:9762): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_destroy: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)’ failed
  • I upgraded to this latest version in order to be able to surf sites using the latest Flash, but most of the time this also doesn’t work, so I use Firefox instead.
  • Dragging a web address to bookmarks, doesn’t save the creation time
  • Many more bugs tired to list here…

Please, Opera people get serious!

 

One Response to “Opera 9.5 beta”

  1. DiGeomel Says:

    Τώρα τελευταία μου τη δίνει και ο Firefox, όσο απίθανο κι αν σου φαίνεται στα Windows αυτή τη στιγμή ο πιο γρήγορος (και όχι μόνο) είναι ο Safari της Apple.


Leave a Reply

