Manolis Perakakis world

News, diary, journal, whatever

Opera prepares for version 10? July 29, 2006

Filed under: HCI,interfaces,Multimodal,technology,web — perak @ 8:42 am

According to this C|net article, Opera prepares version 10 of it’s successful browser.

Wow, it’s not a long time since I updated to version 9. Opera is the ONLY non-open source program I use on my Linux boxes for many years now! It combines rock-solid functionality with an excellent interface.

I really like it’s simple yet intuitive and extremely configurable interface.
(Well in terms of design, it reminds me of Google’s simple interface – simple is beautiful!)
Opera was one of the first apps to use mouse gestures and they have also build a multimodal-enabled version in cooperation with IBM (should test this sometime on my Zaurus)

It’s standard-compliant and it’s blazing fast (compare to pre-firefox mozilla days) and secure (vs IE).I have got 5000 opera bookmarks & a big mailbox and I can quickly find anything in msecs!

In terms of functionality, a jabber IM plug-in would make it almost complete!

<The company expects version 10 to work on and across any platform>
I have already Opera running on my Zaurus PDA and my K700 mobile! – Opera mini is really cool! This gives a strategic advantage for Opera. I think desktop browser wars don’t matter any more, mobile browsing is the next frontier.

<Opera is aiming for a day when people needn’t use a full desktop operating system, instead using a browser and Web applications for most tasks>
This is another cool idea, especially for the mobile space, browser is the computer! And this widget idea is really promising, especially for the mobile space.

<There is also a big push in the company toward creating developer tools>
Attracting developers to it’s already small but dedicated community would be a huge plus. Go for it Opera!

These Norwegian trolls are really cool!

Coolness factor : 4.5

 

2 Responses to “Opera prepares for version 10?”

  1. […] 9.5 beta In a previoys post I said that Opera is one of the few non-open source programs I use and gave the best credit for […]

  2. […] cloudlet plugin January 21, 2009 Filed under: web — perak @ 8:49 am In a previous post i said that Opera is one of the few non-open source programs I use due to it’s speed, […]


Leave a Reply

